The Duke’s Bedeviled Bride :: Book Review

The Duke’s Bedeviled Bride is the second book in The Royal Pains series of novellas by Nina Mason. If you haven’t read the first novella of the series, The Devil in Dukes Clothing, I really really REALLY love this series, and recommend you get a copy for yourselves. You can get it here and read my review here

Go on I’ll wait for you to read the previous review so we’re all on the same page.

Reading and reviewing…


Scribble scribble, Oh you’re back great.

So Maggie and Robert are back from court. They’ve found out a few things about Maggie’s past like she’s the King of England’s niece. Their marriage has been blessed by the King and it should all be happy sailing from here on out. Nope, not for Maggie and Robert.

If you’ve read Devil in Duke’s Clothing you know that Robert had a bit of an affair, well he had an affair but he has reasons to not see it that way. I agree with Maggie, he needs to be punished. Maggie decides beating him would be best, not for Robert, he enjoys being beaten. They come to an agreement, of not agreeing but it looks like they’ll have a happy marriage.

Okay, so The Royal Pains takes place in England during the 17th century. The Catholics are being attacked by the Protestants, Robert is Catholic. He decides he needs to talk with the King. This need arrives at the worse time possible. Robert’s brother is coming home from being sent to France. Hugh has gotten married, blocking the feelings Maggie may have for him. When Robert arrives in London, he’s beaten brutally and left for dead. A doctor finds him and cares for his wounds, but he now has amnesia.

Meanwhile, at Balloch Castle, Hugh is taking the power of the Duke into his own hands. He’s made Maggie a house servant and beats her regularly.
Will Robert and Maggie be able to survive the trials that force them apart.
Warning: BDSM, and a Cliffhanger.

You can get a copy of The Duke’s Bedeviled Bride here


Today, we are featuring The Duke’s Bedeviled Bride, book two in the erotic historic Royal Pains series by Nina Mason. The series, set in Scotland and England during the Restoration period, is available in e-book or paperback.
Buy it now at


Here’s the blurb:

The tawdry tale of the Duke and Duchess of Dunwoody continues?
Maggie Armstrong, the long-lost illegitimate daughter of the heir
presumptive to the throne, is bedeviled by her husband’s limited
definition of fidelity. After observing him in a m?nage ? trois at the
court of King Charles II, she is determined to bring him around to her
way of thinking?by any means necessary.

Robert doesn?t mind being punished for his transgressions. Rather,
he enjoys being whipped, especially by his beloved bride. Unfortunately,
her heart might not belong to him alone. His younger brother, who he?d
sent abroad to clear the way for himself, is coming home sooner than
expected, and Maggie?s feelings for Hugh may not be as dead as her
husband had hoped.

Both duke and duchess soon learn, to their peril, Hugh Armstrong is
not the honorable man they?d been led to believe. Insanely jealous of
his brother?s situation, Hugh will stop at nothing to strip Robert of
all he holds dear?including his life.

But the real danger for Robert and Maggie is not the villainous
Marquess, but the growing friction betwixt Catholics and Protestants in
Restoration Era Great Britain.

Can their love survive the trials that await them?

Here’s the trailer:

Here’s the link to the Rafflecopter giveaway


Here’s a little about the author:

Nina Mason, author
 Nina Mason is a hopeful romantic with strong affinities for history,
mythology, and the metaphysical. She strives to write the same kind of
books she loves to read: those that entertain, edify, educate, and

She is the author of The Queen of Swords, a darkly erotic Scottish paranormal
romance/urban fantasy; The Tin Man, a political thriller; Devil in
Duke’s Clothing, an erotic historical set in 1680 Scotland; The Duke’s
Bedeviled Bride, the follow-up to Devil in Duke’s Clothing; Starry
Knight, the first book in a new PNR/UF series; and Dark and Stormy
Knight, book two in The Knights of Avalon series.Born and raised in Orange County, California, Ms. Mason
currently lives in Woodstock, Georgia.

Here where you can find Nina on social media:


Haven’t read book one yet?



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s