Will O’ the Wisp :: Book Review


Will O’ the Wisp

YA Paranormal is my thing. Well, to be honest, you just have to say “paranormal” and you’ve got my attention. So when C. S. Boyack said just that…. “YA Paranormal” I was drooling and my fingers were tingling, and my eyes started this strange twitch from side to side, that’s reminiscent of watching someone read.

I waited as calmly as I could for him to send over his ARC of Will O’ the Wisp. I’ll be honest with that title I had all sorts of ideas in my mind of what the book would be. I know of all sorts of paranormal creatures that were dropped in the Wisp group.

I expected a teenage girl that has “issues” with her mom and maybe her dad too. That was there in some real new ways that are the same for every teenage girl. Patty has to wear leg braces and her mom (a mom speaking here) protects her from every possible danger and wants her in those braces, (a previous teenage girl here) expects too much of her and babies her at the same time.

Will O’ the Wisp is set in the 1970s and tells the story of Patty Hall a young girl fascinated with space and the recent space excursions of NASA.
I was surprised with the Science Fiction, I was going to question Boyack about the paranormal, but honestly by that time I was already invested in Patty and had to know more about her. I’m happy I did.

Patty believes the Will O’ Wisps she sees one night is an alien, I knew better. As the story goes on and very strange things start happening, like a guy drowning in a jail cell and bubbling water from his own body, and the death of her uncle. Her uncle’s death leaves her and her older brother (serving in Vietnam) as the only surviving Halls. Patty starts understanding she’s not dealing with an alien but a witch. A VERY OLD WITCH that’s cursed her family for generations. And just like that the fight’s on.

It’s up to Patty to save not only her family, but herself. Her research and quick mind helps her in a big all out ritual and magical fight. I loved this part! I don’t want to give the ending away so you’ll have to read it for yourselves.

You can get your copy at Amazon here
Follow C. S. Boyack here

16 thoughts on “Will O’ the Wisp :: Book Review

  1. I just found this. The date says April 7th. WordPress hasn’t been pinging me, and sometimes I miss things in the reader. Thanks for the wonderful review. I will reblog this immediately.

    • mari wells says:

      It was suppose to go out at 3:30AM.ish but it wasn’t live when I woke up. I jumped online and hit publish before leaving for the day. WordPress is playing games with me. I did upload it on the 7th.

      • WordPress has gotten really difficult lately. I never get pinged anymore. If I don’t catch things in the Reader timeline I don’t know anything about them. This post means a lot to me. Thanks for this.

  2. Reblogged this on Entertaining Stories and commented:
    Look what I just found. A wonderful review of Will O’ the Wisp by Mari Wells. Mari has one of the most interesting blogs out there. Come to read the review, stay because Mari is awesome.

  3. Mae Clair says:

    Very nice review, Mari!

  4. sknicholls says:

    This makes me want to read more 🙂 Can’t wait!

  5. paulaacton says:

    When I read the title I immediately thought of the cartoon I grew up watching with Kenneth Williams as Will O’the Wisp but as I read the review this was certainly darker though probably was freaky

Leave a Reply

