Charms


Charms are also called talismans, or amulets.

They’re objects but also words; spells, chants and incantations.

The church has an ambivalent attitude towards charms.
rosary

Rosaries and holy relics are encouraged and blessed.

Other objects are thought of as superstitious.

Amulets_Charms_Milagros

In the 17th century Scotland a charm could be reason enough to condemn someone to be burned.

evil-eye

In South America shamans must have a large knowledge of many charms to battle illness, overcome evil, and destroy enemies.

4 thoughts on “Charms

  1. Good stuff today. Love the chicken foot.

  2. I love this and the idea of charms. We all have our own “charms” that we keep close or wear – even if we don’t always want to admit it. I might do a post on everyday charms and I’ll link back to here (if you don’t mind.) Thanks for the inspiration. Love this post.

    • mari wells says:

      I agree. I have a few charms I wear, and a few I keep at the front door. I wouldn’t admit them to anyone who came into my home though. I’d love to read your post and think about my everyday charms.
      Link away. 😀
      So glad it helped inspire you and that you loved it. ❤

Leave a Reply

