Interviews with Vampires Lilly and Torren


I’m so happy today to be sharing the chance I had to interview Lilly and Torren from Awakening 2.

 ***

Lilly sits alone with Mari at the large table in Beth and Carrie’s kitchen, two weeks after the end of Awakening 2.

The change was hard on you. Can you tell us a little more (not mentioned in the book) about it?

After everything that’s happened, that seems so long ago now. *Shudders* I, uh…I suppose “It was difficult” is an understatement. Just so much stimuli all at once. *Closes her eyes* Imagine being in the middle of a crowded room where everyone is yelling and there’s really loud experimental-industrial music playing and people keep touching you with strange objects you can’t see and the air is thick and there are all these smells being pumped into the room that are vaguely familiar but you can’t quite identify and there’s a really bright light shining directly into your eyes but the rest of the room beyond is pitch dark. Times a thousand.

Now that you’ve adjusted a little more, what do you think of being a vampire?

*Opens her eyes* Right now? It really sucks. I mean, sensory-wise, it’s not as bad as it was those first few months. But I’m still healing from…the incident. I have a scar across my chest. *Gestures from her left collarbone down below her right breast* It aches all the time. And Torren kind of broke my heart. Not to mention the fact that the whole reason I became a vampire in the first place was to feel safer. *Snort* Needless to say, that didn’t really work out as I planned.

What are your plans?

*Looks down at her hands* I don’t know. I need some time to think. To figure out what to do with the rest of eternity. *Her voice quavers* I’m staying at Beth and Carrie’s right now. Part of me hopes that Torren comes looking for me, but part of me doesn’t want him to. I’m–I’m a little fucked up in the head right now. *She begins to cry* I’m so sorry, Mari. I need to be alone. Please go. *Rises and leaves the room*

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Milan. Torren is sitting on a couch next to Vittoria, who looks at him adoringly. They are holding hands.

How long ago were you turned?

Torren: I’m not sure exactly. My memory of that time is still unclear, though it’s coming back, little by little. Vittoria is helping with that. *Squeezes Vittoria’s hand and looks at her with stars in his eyes* How long ago was it, my love?

Vittoria: Five hundred twenty years. It was the year 1492.

Do you remember anything about it?

Torren: *shakes his head* No, not yet.

Can you tell me the difference between human blood and animal blood?

Torren: Human blood has a subtler flavor compared to animal blood. To someone who does not have vampire senses and has never tasted blood, it is hard to describe. Drinking the blood of an animal, such as a deer or a horse, leaves a sharp taste on your tongue. Their blood is a little bitter. Human blood, on the other hand, is almost sweet. It’s more full-bodied than animal. More complex.

*Vittoria licks her lips and looks longingly at Mari’s beautiful, long neck*

Do you use human or animal blood regularly?

Torren: Human blood. Vittoria and I go hunting together.

*Vittoria smiles warmly at him*

Can a vampire survive from feeding off another vampire? Is it done for pleasure only?

Torren: *thinks for a moment* I’ve never heard of a vampire subsisting on another vampire’s blood. It is not a thing that is done. I imagine you could, but it would be difficult to find vampires who were willing to be another vampire’s food. It’s seen as…degrading.

What is it like changing someone?

Torren: I don’t know. I’ve never Changed anyone.

Vittoria: *pulls Torren up off the couch, eyes flashing at Mari* Basta! Torren, we go. Immediatamente!

Torren: *looks confused but follows Vittoria toward the door* I–I’m sorry, Mari. Thank you so much for having us here, but we must leave now.

***

Oh, I was almost worried there for a bit… I don’t know why but I don’t trust Vittoria.

This leaves so many questions doesn’t it??

If by chance you haven’t had a chance to read Awakening 1 or Awakening 2 or started following Jeanie here are the links..

Find Jeanie at these places
@JeanieGrey / Blog / Facebook

Check Amazon for Awakening and Awakening 2 prices.

2 thoughts on “Interviews with Vampires Lilly and Torren

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Ooh, I love this, but you ladies are naughty doing this teaser! Now I’m even more excited to find out what happens! Why does Torren say he’s never changed someone? What’s with Vittoria? Aargh! 😉

Leave a Reply

