Vampire characteristics


Lets take a look at new and old characteristics of vampires.

I’m in one of my list moods so this is kind of in list format.

Both have a Need for blood.
Vampires of old had fangs. Some of the newer ones don’t or they’re retractable.
Old vampires would wear formal wear or opera capes. Not anymore, or not always.
Both have pale complexions.
It was believed vampires from days gone by would sleep in coffins. Some modern vampires do, some don’t. Some don’t even sleep!
What is most commonly believed was vampires could only roam during the night. They would be in a coma during day. This isn’t true for vampires of old or new times.
One of the most common traits of vampires is that they have red eyes. This isn’t always the case now.
It seems having a cold touch is a characteristic that survives today.
Vampires of old couldn’t enter house unless invited. Now they can sneek in to your house.

SUPERNATURAL POWERS:
Both new and old have Speed, night vision, and strength.
Some have the  ability to levitate,  have hypnotic powers, or shapeshift.

AVOID:
It’s believed garlic, sunlight, sacred symbols, holy water were avoided.
Some vampires may need to sleep on native soil.
Most are killed by a stake in the heart, sunlight, fire, and or decapitation. Give or take one or two.

This is a partial list I wrote up when I was studying vampire characteristics for my novel. Please let me know if you have any questions, or if you want to know more about something.

7 thoughts on “Vampire characteristics

  1. jascribbles says:

    I’m a stickler on the daylight thing. I don’t like it when authors or movie people make them able to go out in the sunlight.

    Hmmm – how about rich, strong, beautiful. The original vampire in Bram Stoker’s Dracula wasn’t beautiful but he was seductive. He was able to sort of lure women with his powers – despite his looks.

    Good luck with your book

    Jenna

    • mari wells says:

      My vampires are able to be out in the sunlight. Well some of them are.
      Physical appearance varies so much between cultures and myths. My vampires are strong, and beautiful. They are rich because the ka-ching adds up after centuries. So I didn’t add that. This was a list I actually made when I started my vampire story, so what I needed was there and not much more.

      Thanks for coming by. I have a lot of vampire info here for you to look through. Come back again.
      Mari

  2. Heidi says:

    I like to change things up with my vampires-make them more like real people than monsters. Traditional is following someone else’s lead and because it’s my story I will make up my own rules. I think the going out in sunlight thing is dumb as well so I say don’t focus so much on rules unless you’re going for that kind of thing.

    • mari wells says:

      My main vampire coven found out long ago they could tolerate sunlight, they are also good vampires. Other covens haven’t figured it out, they’re bad vampires. Human hunters. The good ones won’t tell the bad ones what the secrets are..
      I’ve tried to keep somethings or have a real good excuse as to why it wasn’t true. I did keep one dumb thing. Sleeping with native soil.
      I wanted to know what the old myths were and then explain why it wasn’t the case with my vampires, and so my list.

  3. Heather says:

    I have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award” http://witchsweb.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/one-lovely-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

