Friday Fictioneers 12-28-12


Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers.
It’s a lot of take a try at it.

coffee_in_mirror_02-1
Photo:Copyright Jean L. Hays

**Reborn**

I looked at the colored glass. My mind drifted.
The first day I was in my mistress’ chamber. Her glass panes were colored, but a different pattern. I remember it well.
She lined us all up. When he walked in.
My stomach twisted.
He slowly walked in front of us. He turned to me and smiled.
I felt the blood rush to my cheeks.
He took me by the wrist, nodded at my mistress, and pulled me from her chamber.

“May I?” He sat down in front of me, a question in his eyes.
“I’m remembering our first night together.”

Word count: 100



39 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers 12-28-12

  1. An affair in two times? Hard to carry off in just one. 🙂

    Happy New Year, Mari.

  2. Parul says:

    interesting take on the prompt. Lovers united in the next life.
    I could have never thought of that. 🙂

  3. Tom Poet says:

    Cool take on the prompt. Love will endure time and death. Very cool.
    Tom

  4. JackieP says:

    Very interesting take on the picture. Clever!

  5. Hi Mari,
    Unique and creative response to the photo. Ron

  6. Mystical take on the prompt.

  7. This is a juicy one, Mari. And, all from a rather innocent photo. Nice one!

  8. rich says:

    to me – this is a bisexual affair, and it seems like several people had a wonderful time. well done.

  9. kz says:

    true love spans centuries, worlds and souls.. cool take on the prompt

  10. elmowrites says:

    Love doesn’t just span centuries, but also mindsets – theirs will be a very different relationship this time around.

  11. tedstrutz says:

    Lots of questions here in 100 words. Maybe a love story… maybe not.
    I’m wondering if there should be a period between ‘up’ and ‘When’ in the 4th line down. I liked the use of the stained glass.

    • mari wells says:

      I believe it is a love story now. I don’t think she would have agreed at the beginning though. Now I’m wondering about the period too. I will think on it.
      Thank you.

  12. Once again, you’ve written a piece with so much possibility. Didn’t see your title the first time around and was thinking he rescued her from a sordid life… Maybe I should give my Moulin Rouge soundtrack a rest! 🙂

    • mari wells says:

      I usually write paranormal. For Fictioneers, I try to get out of it, but sometimes the pull is just too strong. Listen to whatever you love, it’ll inspire you.
      So glad you liked it. I might have to take this one out a bit more too.
      Thanks

      • My baby is a YA High Fantasy Trilogy. Angelique is a step out of my comfort zone. I’m not sure I’d read it if I saw it on the shelf, but it’s nice to step out and try something different, especially if it works. I’m sure your piece will work, whatever direction you take it!

  13. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Mari,

    Somewhere in time. Reincarnation. Replay. You did well with this theme. Nice mood throughout.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  14. deanabo says:

    I really enjoyed this. Well done.

  15. jenniesisler says:

    Wow, this is very breathtaking. I like how you tell an intimate story yet leave it open to interpretation:) Thanks for stopping by my blog and checking out my post.

  16. Very intriguing. I read him taking her out of prostitution or a life as amaid and marrying her later on out of love. I could be wrong. 🙂 Happy New Year, Mari.

    • mari wells says:

      No that’s not it. I think this is one of those stories I’m going to have to expand on, but I’m very busy right now and it’ll have to wait.
      Thank you for coming by and commenting.
      Happy New Year to you too.

Leave a Reply

