Friday Fictioneers 12/14/12


It’s time for Friday Fictioneers. I am really enjoying this community. It teaches something new every week and this is only the fifth week here! Thank you, Rochelle for running this.
I learned last night that there is a Friday Fictioneer Facebook Page
Our photo prompt is from Doug MacIlroy.

Copyright -Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright -Douglas M. MacIlroy

Christmas Preparations

I can’t believe I agreed to this. I didn’t have any experience making Piñatas.
Everyone thought I would make the best Santa head because of my creativity.
I rolled my eyes as I remembered.
Juana should have taken this part of the creation.
I stopped to read her email again. I needed more newspaper. I haven’t a clue how to attach his hat. I walked around the sphere; reread the email.
I can’t forget to put a hole in the top for the candy. Where did I put those wire cutters? I taped around the sharp edges.
I rolled some newspaper into a cone, and taped it with duct tape.

Word count: 110



36 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers 12/14/12

  1. A piñata! Now that’s original, Mari. Clever take on the prompt.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  2. Wow, that’s going to be an ugly Santa head!!! 🙂

  3. boomiebol says:

    Brilliant Mari…the story fits so well

  4. But what child in his/her right mind would hit Santa? 🙂
    Scott
    Mine: http://kindredspirit23.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/friday-fictioneers-10/

  5. Great use of the prompt. And, you even incorporated Santa. You get bonus points for that, Mari. I’m laughing at that comment above about kids hitting Santa. Oh, you would be surprised what kids will do for candy!

    • mari wells says:

      I’ve seen kids beat each other to get the arm of a pinata star that was full of candy.
      My kids clean their messes without compliant for candy!
      They’ll even give me hugs and kisses. 😀

  6. Sandra says:

    Great take on the prompt – I’m taken aback at your inventiveness and feeling quite inadequate. Good work Mari.

  7. A nice unique take on the prompt

  8. Ah, a photo-prompt rather than phrase-prompt. How ingenious. That’s a very big-headed Santa you were making!

  9. HI Mari,
    A pinata, how festive. Your character came alive as she struggled to do his assigned task. Feliz Navidad! Ron

  10. brudberg says:

    That was original. A piñata. I like the form of an inner monologue. Nice 🙂

  11. rgayer55 says:

    I would say Santa has a swelled head, but at least it’s filled with good things.

  12. Tom Poet says:

    I am a full grown man and I would take a whack at Santa for some candy and he wouldn’t have to be a pinata….I’d take a swing at the guy in the mall. Nice Job.

    Tom

  13. tedstrutz says:

    A pinãta… that is a novel take on Doug’s globe. Nice holiday vibe, despite her self doubt.

  14. backfromtheedge says:

    Ahhhhhh! I’ve only ever seen pinata that look like colourful donkeys (not such a big thing where I’m from), so I’d never have thought of that. I’d quite like to see the finished product now ;-).

  15. rich says:

    oh how the creative minds sometimes suffer. we all know how she feels. well done.

  16. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Mari,

    I wish I could have used paper for my sphere. Would make it a lot easier. Nice story this week.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

