The writing dream


I love this quote:

“You start by writing to live. You end by writing so as not to die.”

I agree with the ending.  In my case, I need to write, as I need to breathe. If I don’t write something daily, it’s not fun to be around me. Creativity through the expression of words has become life giving to me.
My family knows when I haven’t written for a few days, I get cranky. They begin to beg The Muse to appear. They ask questions about the protagonists trying to coax The Muse into action.

I guess if you look at it another way, the beginning could also mean the same thing.

Writing is now in my blood. I never thought I would want to be an author/writer. I always thought only a selective few could ever reach the dream of being published. I just wasn’t one of those special few, and I wasn’t going to let it be a dream I would never achieve.

I’ve found out, you can’t really smother a dream. One way or another it will find its way to get out. Luckily, for me, anybody who really puts in the hard work can be published now.

Carlos Fuentes passed on May 15, 2012 -Five months ago today.
He published more than sixty works.  Which have been translated into 24 languages.
If you haven’t read any of his works, Please be aware he does use language that some may find offensive. (Most will find him offensive!)
Where I don’t agree with his use of language, I do respect him as an author. He took many risks to write what he wrote, and that fact alone is a great accomplishment.

If you write, does that quote touch you?

 

4 thoughts on “The writing dream

  1. paulaacton says:

    My muse is a fickle creature she either bombards me with ideas or goes into a silent huff, the reality is we would write even if no one else ever read it. It is an addiction but also its own therapy what else could we do with the voices in our heads if we did not write lol

    • mari wells says:

      My Muse is the same, I can’t get her to speak to me right now. Well, today, I miss her. There were a great many years I refused to write anything, but I do agree. Now I write whether anyone reads it or enjoys it or not. I write because I would be crazy without doing it. The voices would make be crazy. It’s very nice to know someone feels the same as I do. 😀

  2. boomiebol says:

    I like his quote, writing is a struggle against silence

Leave a Reply

