Nighttime Musings


Occasionally The Muse strikes at night.

I’ve settled the children. I’ve finished the last of the daily tasks.  Finally, I can drop into bed exhausted. Rest and sleep is all I want.

The Muse appears, and prattles for quite some time.

I started keeping a small notebook and pen on my nightstand. When I would look over my notes the next morning; I couldn’t read any of the chicken scratches I had filled the paper with. Therefore, I began keeping a mini LED flashlight by the notebook.

I have stayed awake for an hour or more some nights with my handy mini flashlight scribbling away.

Last night was one of those nights. My dear Muse  kept me awake until after midnight! She decided to give me many ideas for posts. She gave me around eight ideas!

She added some ideas for a short story I’m writing. 1,038 words, now the story is at 2,110 words. Hopefully I will be done with it soon, then I’ll submit it to a magazine.

She gave me a few sheets of Haylee’s story, 209 words.  She gave me a pitch for Haylee’s story here it is: When a teenage girl moves to a new state with her recently widowed mother and sister, her life is about to be turned upside down.

Tonight, My Muse please let me sleep.

Does your Muse come to you in the middle of the night?

I’m going to try a poll. Let’s see how this works.

Leave a Reply

